Iwanow Undefeated After Night One In Collie

by | Jan 12, 2020 | SSA Junior Sedans | 0 comments


Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Allan Smallwood SSA Media

Western Australian Junior Sedan Champion Blake Iwanow has gone through the first night of competition undefeated at the 2019/2020 Moyle Engines & Race Parts SSA National Junior Sedan Title at the Make Smoking History Collie Speedway.

Iwanow was all class as he went to victory lane on three occasions with Geraldtons Mitchell Baker and Brandon Buszan enjoying a great night.

Fifty One competitors were on track for the grand parade prior to the fifteen heats with the opening race seeing a great win by Mitchell Baker.

Local Collie driver Seth Hinsey had the biggest incident of the night when he rolled heavily in turn two in heat two. Hinsey was unhurt with the team attempting to have the car back for night two with Erin Fraser proving to be an emotional winner of the race.

Mooras Taj Vanzetti claimed the victory in heat three aboard his Daihatsu Charade ahead of Joshua Ahearn and Broomes Cody Mackellar.

Brandon Buszan was outstanding in the fourth heat with Darryl George, Jhy Pack and Matthew Thomson enjoying a great battle for the minor placings.

Victorian Jye Irving went from last to first on the opening lap of heat five with Blake Iwanow and Irving racing side by side for the lead for a number of laps. Iwanow eventually got the better of Irving with Rory Elsum-Beaumont third.

The opening heat of the second round witnessed a great battle between Darryl George & Beau Oldfield with George getting the victory by 0.139.

Narrogins Brody Day scored the victory in heat seven ahead of Karrathas Jared Coutts and the consistent Rory Elsum-Beaumont. Hayden Mortimer unfortunately got caught up in a multi car pile p during the race seeing the Bernies Carpets Hyundai Excel heading to the infield.

Heat Eight saw a great battle throughout with Kurtis Blackburn clearing away from the field late in the race ahead of Jonty Barnsby and the impressive Mitchell Baker.

Third generation peddler Matthew Thomson stormed through the field to win heat nine ahead of Kayne Dellar and South Australian Drew Flatman.

The final heat of the second round saw another win to Iwanow who withstood the challenges of Brandon Buszan for the eight laps.

Mitchell Baker recorded his second heat victory of the title in heat eleven with Dean Schofield holding off Jhy Pack to win heat twelve.

The Redline Rollcages Mitsubishi Lancer of Beau Oldfield took out heat thirteen ahead of Brody Day and Cody Mackellar with the penultimate heat going to Blake Iwanow to remain undefeated.

Drew Flatman stormed to the lead early on in the final heat with Brandon Buszan and Bryden Southwell having a great battle for second place.

Racing will get underway from 6pm tomorrow night at the Make Smoking History Collie Speedway for the final night of the 2019/2020 Moyle Engines & Race Parts SSA National Junior Sedan Title.

The Speedway Sedans Live coverage powered by Pro 1 Race Parts is scheduled to start at 5.30pm WST.

The Official Point Score after Night One of the 2019/2020 SSA National Junior Sedan Title

1. W24 Blake Iwanow 108
2. W9 Mitchell Baker 95
3. W198 Brandon Buszan 92
4. W8 Brody Day 92
5. S112 Drew Flatman 82
6. W84 Beau Oldfield 77
7. W73 Darryl George 76
8. WA17 Kurtis Blackburn 70
9. W78 Jhy Pack 69
10. W95 Kayne Dellar 69
11. W121 Taj Vanzetti 67
12. WA26 Rory Elsum-Beaumont 63
13. W22 Dean Schofield 59
14. W15 Matthew Thomson 57
15. W17 Cody Mackellar 56
16. WA95 Izak Davies 55
17. W119 Joshua Ahearn 55
18. V46 Jye Irving 54
19. W11 Erin Fraser 52
20. W63 Bryden Southwell 48
21. W55 Riley Dunne 46
22. W88 Izzac Delaporte 46
23. W13 Elysha Cooper 42
24. V57 Zoe Young 40
25. W26 Jasmine Arnold 39
26. WX24 Jonty Barsnby 38
27. W77 Jared Coutts 38
28. WA24 Aiden Doak 36
29. W343 Tanika Webb 35
30. W75 Tylah Steele 35
31. W52 Bradley Chant 34
32. W133 Lexi Smith 33
33. W29 Deagan McNally 32
34. W295 Chloe Dellar 29
35. S24 Chelsea Gwynne 29
36. W71 Olivia Earle 28
37. W87 Riley Hanson 26
38. W117 Tyson Blackburn 26
39. WA66 Possum Lawrence 26
40. W18 Hayden Mortimer 20
41. W567 Brooke Sutton 20
42. WA77 Mitchell Delaporte 20
43. W43 Jorja Davies 20
44. W25 Alyvia Ferraro 19
45. W4 Emma Ahearn 19
46. W33 Olivia Smith 18
47. W171 Jayden Blackburn 16
48. S16 Corey Richter 16
49. W44 Shataya Herbert 13
50. S12 Max Richter 13
51. W66 Seth Hinsey 4