by | Nov 16, 2020 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans | 0 comments

Press Release Courtesy of the Super Sedan Association, photo by FTBC Photography

Another fantastic field of 24 cars have assembled for the Hervey Bay Tilt Tray Hire supported round of the McCosker Super Sedan Series which will be contested this Saturday night at the Fraser Shores Maryborough Speedway. Leading the nominations this week are the top three in the Series, three time Aussie Champ Mick Nicola (KO Vic 3), Sam Roza (Sweet 77) and Sean Black (Sweet 26). Current Aussie 1 Darren Kane (Dominator) sitting in fourth place after a great drive from ninth to finish on the podium at Archerfield is also nominated.  

In the series only visit to the venue last season Matty Pascoe and Wayne Randall occupied the top steps on the podium. Both suffered mechanical issues and accumulated very few points at Archerfield last weekend, they will be keen to get their championship chase back on track. Matty is still waiting for engine components and will again be in Brendan Doyle owned car (Sweet 31 Rockhampton Mazda) while Wayne will be back in the Reith Rubach owned car (Rocket 6 KRT Trenching).

Sunshine Coast duo Nicholas O’Keeffe (Sweet 20) and Josh McLaren (Sweet 96) have this season joined forces as the M & N Car Carriers Race Team. The pair had career best results at Archerfield last outing and will be looking to continue their momentum in the series.

Nicholas “Hobo” O’Keeffe is a former Australian Dwarf Car Champion and a winner of the QLD Super Sedan Development Series. Fans may also be surprised to learn the Nicholas has also been racing a Sprintcar in Queensland this season. So he is getting plenty of seat time which will no doubt be helping to improve his race craft. In fact he beat Nicola to  win a heat at Archerfield and finished a strong 7th in the feature.

Twenty-nine year old “Hobo” lives in Caloundra and is a nurse by profession. His number 20 Sweet is supported by M & N Car Carriers, City Motor Auctions, Workshop Solutions Sunshine Coast, Brisbane Removalists, Harrison Mechanical and Superior Towing.

Josh McLaren is 30 years old, lives in Cootharaba and is a mechanic. He too is a former winner of the QLD Super Sedan Association Development Series. He qualified for the A main at Archerfield by virtue of a second place in the B and went on to finish in 11th place at the end of the 30 lap feature. Josh is quite familiar with the Maryborough track having won there in a club show previously.

Drivers will contest 3 rounds of heats each, the top 8 will then go against the clock in a shootout to determine their starting positions. Qualifiers 9 thru 16 will be locked in to the 30 lap feature with drivers from 17 thru 24 having to take part in a B main to secure one of the 20 starting positions.  

Also on the program is National 4’s QLD Title, SSA Production Sedans, and SSA Junior Sedans.

Nominations (24)

A1 Darren Kane

2 Craig Hammond

3 Tania Smith

V3 Mick Nicola

5 Ray Lane

6 Wayne Randall

6 Craig Craft

7 Steve Jordan

12 David Musch

15 Gavin Northfield

20 Nicholas O’Keefe

26 Sean Black

31 Matt Pascoe

35 Carter Armstrong

39 Bob McCosker

44 Trent Wilson

48 Rodney Craft

48 Brendon Kelly

51 Zac Pascoe

63 Justin Smithwick

77 Sam Roza

96 Josh McLaren

98 Michael Hally

111 Hayden Brims

McCosker Contracting Super Sedan Series is also proudly supported by:

Hervey Bay Tilt Tray Hire

Ian Boettcher Race Parts

Ken Mills Toyota

Queensland Speedway Spares

Rockhampton Mazda

TMS Sportswear

Ford Wreckers Redcliffe

Lockyer Bins

Kempy Race Pipes

Afco Shock Doctor

Barnes Drilling

Topline Australia