by | Jan 4, 2021 | QLD, SSA Modified Sedans | 0 comments

Toowoomba’s Nathan MacDonald has raced home to win a thrilling feature race at the grand final of the Summer of Speed Series at Archerfield Speedway.

The race got underway at a cracking pace with Aidan Raymont sweeping the around the top of the race track against the cushion to take an early lead. Mid-way through the feature race, Brodie Boss (who started on the front row) unfortunately caught fire and had to retire to the infield while engaged in an epic battle with Tim Atkin, Tim Weir and Nathan MacDonald.

At the restart, it appeared as if Raymont would run away with a comfortable win to clean sweep the series, until Tim Atkin worked his way back and challenged for the lead. With 5 laps to go Raymont tyre went flat forcing him to the infield.

Meanwhile Rodney Pammenter and Tim Atkin raced side by side for the lead until they made contact on the back straight trying to avoid a slowing Josh Crang who succumbed to more gremlins in the FG Falcon.

Atkin retired from the race with damage, however Pammenter was able to continue, although carrying substantial damage to the right rear of his Holden Commodore. At the restarted Pammenter took off as the leader but only lasted another lap before his right rear went flat.

This caused an epic finale as the field bunched up all fighting for the podium. Shane MacDonald, Tim Weir, Darran Lester and Mick Shelford were all tussling for a place on the podium, and after heavy contact on the final corner between Mick Shelford and Darran Lester, it was Tim Weir that held on for second ahead of Shane MacDonald, Darren Baldwin and Graham Kleinhans rounding out the top five behind Nathan MacDonald. Mick Shelford, Darran Lester, Steven Quirk finishing sixth, seventh and eighth, while Pammenter limped home in ninth just ahead of Alex Sweeney who rounded out the top ten.

Although Raymont didn’t finish the grand final, had amassed enough points to win the Summer of Speed Series with 109 points. Mick Shelford finished second with 74 points, only four points ahead Darran Lester. Courtesy of his grand final win, Nathan MacDonald finished fourth overall on 42 points. Tim Atkin rounded out the top five with 35 points.

Here’s the complete standings for the Top 20 in the Summer of Speed Series:

1. Aidan Raymont 109
2. Mick Shelford 74
3. Darran Lester 70
4. Nathan MacDonald 42
5. Tim Atkin 35
6. Brodie Boss 31
7. Tim Weir 29
8. Rodney Pammenter 28
9. Shane MacDonald 24
10. Dennis Shallcross 23
11. Graham Klienhans 18
12. Darren Baldwin 18
13. Steven Quirk 16
14. Glenn Pagel 13
15. Mark Raymont 13
16. Adam Jorgensen 12
17. Max Clarke 11
18. Brad Stein 8
19. Greg Worling 8
20. Josh Crang 8

A huge thanks must go to all the drivers, crews, officials, the tracks and spectators for supporting the Summer of Speed Series. It was a wonderful four nights of racing at four different tracks across South East Queensland that was enjoyed by so many people.

Finally, massive thanks to all the following sponsors for making the series and the individual rounds possible. We couldn’t have done this without you.

Gold Sponsors:
· Sidtech
· Shock Absorber Therapy
· Complete Customs
· Fabhouse

Silver Sponsors:
· Immortal Rollcages
· Total Epoxy Flooring
· True Design Homes
· Shorty’s Batteries
· McDermott Motorsport Industries
· Ash Media
· Down Under Graphics