by | Oct 31, 2021 | SSA Street Stocks, WA | 0 comments

Image by Graham Conaty Photography

The Snap On Holden Commodore of Peter Walker has narrowly taken victory in the 2021 Goldfields Machining ‘Stocktober” event held at the Kalgoorlie International Speedway in the Goldfields region of Western Australia on Saturday Night.

Walker survived a torrid twenty five laps where he was challenged throughout the race by Esperance driver Zane Humphrys, with the pair drag racing to the chequered flag as they exited the final corner.

The margin for victory was just 0.086 of a second as Linton Dickerson closed on the leaders in the final laps to cross the line right behind Walker & Humphrys.

Western Australian Champion Jamie Oldfield worked his way into the top three by lap sixteen after starting the main event from position sixth.

Just as Oldfield looked to mount a challenge for victory the Novel Smash Repairs Holden Commodore and the Ford Falcon of Zane Humphrys came together as they raced into turn three with Humprhys spinning in front of on the oncoming traffic.

Oldfield was sent to the rear of the field for the nine lap restart which left Walker, Humphrys, Dickerson and Dean Shore to do battle for the podium positions.

Walker was a popular winner in his former home town with Dean Shore eventually fourth from Oldfield who worked his way back into fifth by race end.

Defending “Stocktober” champion Jack Barnewall was out of the race on lap sixteen in the borrowed Ford Falcon as Gavin Minty, Hamish Macalpine & Tanya Kemp found themselves out of proceedings early in the race.

The Kalgoorllie International Speedway will host the 2021/2022 SSA Street Stock WA State Title from 18th-20th March 2021 which forms apart of the final round of the 2022 Novus Glass Month of Money.

Official Result of the 2021/2022 “Stocktober”

A Main, Twenty Five Laps- 1. W81 Peter Walker, 2. W39 Zane Humphrys, 3. W100 Linton Dickerson, 4. W4 Dean Shore, 5. W1 Jamie Oldfield, 6. W21 Evan Wakefield, 7. W24 James Lawton, 8. W31 Tristan Stroet, 9. W47 Jay Rees, 10. W616 Jamie Goodwin, DNF W3 Gavin Minty (11), W16 Jack Barnewall (13), W00 Hamish Macalpine (1), W71 Tanya Kemp (1), DNS W626 Josh Stewart, W7 Lachlan Dellar.