by | Mar 16, 2021 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans | 0 comments

Press Release by the Super Sedan Association

Rockhampton Mazda presents round 12 of the McCosker Super Sedan Series at the Rocky showgrounds this Saturday night the 20th of March 2021. 

Series officials are happy with the field of sixteen who have nominated considering the expense and distance that travelling to Rockhampton presents for many of the Teams. 

“It is important that we have the Rockhampton date on our calendar so we can show our support to the competitors that support the series at other venues throughout the season said McCosker Series President David Musch, the Teams that compete have to make tough decisions as to where their budgets will allow them to race and that is why the car count is down a little from other series events this season.”

Sean Black is having a superb season as he continues to lead the Series points. 

The Series last visited the McCosker Rocky Speedway in November of 2019 and it was Black who came away with the win. 

Sam Roza who has moved into second place in the series and is only 332 points behind will be looking to improve on his fourth place finish in the 2019 event and extend his run of podium finishes in this years series. 

The field is also joined by former National Champions Matty Pascoe, Steve Jordan and Mick Nicola.

Locals will have plenty to cheer for as four of their home town drivers have entered. 

The local talent is spearheaded by Justin Smithwick (Sweet 63) who has only missed one round of the series this season and currently sits in seventh place. 

Other Rockhampton locals who will join the field are Gavin Northfield (Dominator 15), Brendan Doyle (Sweet 31) and Darren Saunders (Sweet 29).

Drivers will contest 3 rounds of heats each, the field will take up their starting positions for the feature according to their qualifying points. 

Racing from 4pm with SSA Modified Sedans & SSA Junior Sedans on the program.

Nominations (16)
V3 Mick Nicola
7​ Steve Jordan
12​ David Musch
15​ Gavin Northfield
20​ Nicholas O’Keeffe
26​ Sean Black
29​ Darren Saunders
31​ Brendan Doyle
34​ Wayne Randall
39​ Bob McCosker
47​ Matty Pascoe
63​ Justin Smithwick
77​ Sam Roza
84​ Justin Randall
96​ Josh McLaren
111 ​Hayden Brims

McCosker Contracting Super Sedan Series is also proudly supported by:

Rockhampton Mazda
Queensland Speedway Spares
TMS Sportswear
Lockyer Bins
Ford Wreckers Redcliffe
Ian Boettcher Race Parts
Ken Mills Toyota
Hervey Bay Tilt Tray Hire
Kempy Race Pipes
Afco Shock Doctor
Barnes Drilling
Topline Australia