by | Jun 15, 2021 | SA, SSA Junior Sedans, SSA Modified Sedans, SSA Street Stocks, SSA Super Sedans | 0 comments

Press Release by Phil Michell Motorsport Media

The final meeting of the South Australian Speedway season took place on Sunday June 13 at the Sunline Speedway at Waikerie with Sam Brumfield and Ben Whitehead emerging victorious in the two main events of the afternoon.

After starting from the outside of the front row Sam Brumfield claimed the 15-lap final in the Steve Butcher Street Stock Memorial but he had to survive a late charge from Darren Brumfield.

In what was not only a Family battle it was also a classic Ford V Holden dual and after trading places on a couple of occasions Sam got the nod by .135 of a second over Darren with Keith Moore completing the podium.

After starting on the pole Whyalla’s Michael Brown finished fourth but it could have been a whole lot more after spinning while leading on lap 3.

Jason Gantz was the only other finisher. Michael Brown and Sam Brumfield were the heat winners.In what was a dominating display Ben Whitehead remained undefeated to claim the Speedway Sedans Australia / Haseldine Automotive Modified Sedan Track Championship.

The format for the Modified Sedan Championship was a little different as it included a running total with the points from both heat races and the final being added together to determine the winner.

With Whitehead taking a clean sweep he was the obvious winner with Tony Hardy, Mark Janssan and David Haseldine completing the top four.

The final saw Whitehead defeat Tony Hardy, Bronte Perkins, Mark Janssan, David Haseldine and Paul Hayes.

The final round of the Sunline Speedway Super Sedan Track Championship saw seven cars front for action with Kym Jury, who was celebrating his birthday, remaining undefeated throughout the afternoon claiming both heat races and the 15-lap finale.

After finishing second and third in the heats Mick Brougham continued his competitive day with the runner-up position in the main event ahead of Neville Nitschke and Shane Lambe.

Unfortunately, the feature race was quickly reduced to four cars after Andrew Leech failed to front for the final after an engine failure in heat two while Mitchell Rigney and Sarah Pope both failed to complete a lap after being involved in separate incidents.

Nitschke’s third placing in the final was enough to secure the overall Track Championship ahead of Jury and Brougham.

SUPER SEDANS SSA TRACK CHAMPIONSHIP – 1st S58 Neville Nitschke, 2nd S93 Kym Jury, 3rd S55 Mick Brougham, 4th S63 Kym Cottrell, 5th S66 Sarah Pope, 6th V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 7th S99 Mitchell Rigney, 8th V3 Mick Nicola Snr, 9th S44 Andrew Leach, 10th S42 Shane Lambe.

The Junior Sedans SSA Track Championship Final saw Drew Flatman defeat Callum Crossing in what was the final Junior Sedan meeting for both competitors. Riley Greig, Lucas Warnett and Lincoln King completed the top five.

Earlier heat the winners were Flatman (2), Warnett and Greig.Despite crashing out of his second heat and not being able to compete in the final Lachlan Brown won the overall Track Championship ahead of Callum Crossing and Lucas Warnett.

JUNIOR SEDANS SSA TRACK CHAMPIONSHIP – 1st S9 Lachlan Brown, 2nd S61 Callum Crossing, 3rd S46 Lucas Warnett, 4th S2 Ky McEwin, 5th S112 Drew Flatman, 6th S5 Riley Greig, 7th S24 Chelsea Gwynne, 8th S12 Max Richter, 9th S99 Mathew Richter, 10th S16 Corey Richter.