by | Jul 18, 2021 | SSA Production Sedans, WA | 0 comments

Image by David Oliver

As was the case just a week ago, the SSA Production Sedans have again put on a great show, with Jayden McCuish continuing his strong form to claim the Kevan Joyce Memorial for SSA Production Sedans at Pithara Speedway.

The six heat races could not separate the top three drivers on points, Jamie Higgs gaining pole position from Jayden McCuish while Kye Blight would come from position three after a countback on the points.

As the twenty-lap feature race went green, Blight, McCuish and Higgs went three wide through turn one, a couple baulked and left defending SSD Series Champion Barry Rose nowhere to go but into the side of Blight and seeing him spinning to a stop in turn one.

Attempt two saw Mitchell Killeen spin in turn one to set up another complete restart, but it would be a case of third time lucky as Higgs led into turn one followed by McCuish who was running on the highline.

The top six cars of Higgs, McCuish, Blight, Killeen, Rose and Musarra would break away from the rest of the field and on lap four McCuish was right beside Higgs for the lead as they crossed the line.

McCuish went underneath Higgs down the back straight on lap six to claim the lead while behind them, Killeen also blasted into third as he passed Blight.

A yellow light stoppage with seven complete did nothing to harm McCuish, who simply raced away again, while all eyes were on Barry Rose who firstly chased down Killeen, then passed him for third on lap fifteen, then caught Jamie Higgs, pulling right alongside him for second with two laps remaining.

A lap later Rose would make it stick to claim second place, but it made no difference up front as McCuish raced away to claim the win from Rose and Higgs.

In the SSA Street Stocks Sean Bowen dominated all three of the heats and then led the twelve lap feature for nine laps.

Fellow Moora driver Gordon Wyatt though would close the gap and draw alongside Bowen coming out of turn four to complete lap ten and take the lead.

Bowen fought back but had a moment coming out of turn two, with a lapped car also coming out in front of the two, seeing Wyatt claim the win from Bowen, with Ryan Penfold in third.

Also on the program were the SSA Junior Sedans, with Jesse James Samuels winning all four New Star races and defeating Kaden Harrison and Lilly Hollands in the New Stars while Harrison Beres bounced back disappointing opening heat to win both the final two heats and the feature, defeating Zach Munro and Kai Leeson.

The third round of the 2021 SSD Natrad Four Crowns Series will be held at the Kellerberrin Speedway on Saturday 7th August 2021 in conjunction with the PTQCC Production Sedan Open Championship.

Official Result

A Main, 20 laps: 1. 1. W58 Jayden McCuish, 2. W181 Barry Rose, 3. W84 Jamie Higgs, 4. W4 Mitchell Killeen, 5. W71 Kye Blight, 6. W21 Rick Musarra, 7. W28 Isaac Arnold, 8. W77 David Skipworth, 9. W86 Wayne Leviston. DNS: W12 Chris Telenta, W17 Jarrad Fisher, W172 Jim McGorman.